Monday, December 01, 2008

My run today...

My last mile was killer! Not in a good way. 3 miles is so much harder now with the gadget calibrated.

Friday, November 28, 2008

First TRUE 3 mile Run

I discovered that my Nike+ was not calibrated, so today was my FIRST TRUE 3 mile run, my official pace is 13:34.

My 4 previous runs with Nike+ were listed as 3 miles, but it was actually 2 1/4 miles. So 4 laps around a high school track IS indeed 1 mile.

Still, I feel really good about it.
I started at 1 mile (11/3) and today I reached 3 miles.
I am not as out of breath as I was in the beginning, and I'm not sweating as much.

Not sure how I'll get to my goal, but here's another week where I didn't miss my run.
YAY!

Sunday, November 16, 2008

Official Blog

Hi!
We have set up the official blog for the program.
I did my best to move over the postings over (the images and nike+ gadget have not made it, yet)

Come visit me:
http://jumpingfrogpilates.blogspot.com/

It's really been helpful to have this practice blog and getting your feedback for improvements.
Keep them coming!

I feel really lucky to have this opportunity to change my life, and grateful to have your support to motivate me.
:-)
YES, of course I'm cheesy... Don't you know me by now?

Thank you everyone!

Jully

Friday, November 14, 2008

First Run with Nike+



Really, how cool IS this?
I had some trouble getting the gadget started (probably because I didn't read the instructions), but once I got it going, it was pretty cool. It was a nice surprise to find out that 4 laps around our high school track is WAY over 1 mile.

I'm noticing that running is getting a little easier for me. My goal is to get to 3-4 miles, and run them comfortably. Virginia told us "You should be able to hold a conversation when you run because the body needs oxygen to burn the fat". I'm definitely not there yet.

I have to admit, it was tough to get up this morning for the run, but I reminded myself that today was the only time I could get my run in for this week before tomorrow's session.

Honestly... it's only my 3rd run since the beginning of this experience and I really hope I can keep this up. To me right now, moderation is the key. As long as I don't over do it...

Thursday, November 13, 2008

Body Unconscious

Yesterday was my first session at the Tenafly Studio, which had more machines, such as the chair, the cadillac, some kind of semi circle wooden unit, and lots of other props. I didn't get to use them, but guess which one is used for what?



The session flowed much smoother than the previous two, one exercise right into the next. We were more comfortable, understood the intructions, and we began to feel and move along with our breath. The full connection is still not there, but I can sense that I'm getting there.

After each of the sessions, I get in the car and feel tighter in the mid section of my stomach right away. Overall, I have started to notice my body in an unfamiliar way. This is going to be a bit tough to explain. What I mean is, I am now realizing how fat I am. Yes, I'm using the word fat, don't worry, I'm ok with it (now).

For the past week or so, I've been looking at my body a lot differently. First thing, I am "LOOKing" at it. I can see the size of my calf, my waist, my arms, my double chin, and so on. I have looked at myself in the mirror plenty of times before, but I've never noticed it quite this way. I found myself saying, "Wow, I am pretty big."

Now, don't feel bad... because I really don't. I feel like I have opened my eyes and have finally seen what I really look like. Really, I do weigh 188 lbs! In my mind, I think I stopped gaining the weight, and stopped getting bigger visibly even when the scale told me otherwise. What's that called? Body Dysmorphia? Ok, not THAT bad, but I really have been unconscious of how big I've become.

I can now focus on a few parts of my body and feel the muscles. They've always been there, but now I feel them in ways I didn't before. I can only compare myself to the people on the "Biggest Loser". You wonder how people ever allowed themselves to get that big? Well, I get it...

Monday, November 10, 2008

Running

I did my 2 mile run this morning and I feel great about it.

For work today, I attended a conference and one of the presentations spoke of Nike+. I've actually got a pair of Nike ID Zoon Jasari+ last month. The first time I wore them was on 11/3, after my first introductory Pilates session. I was sort of saving it for a special occasion. I only have an ipod shuffle, so I was not able to activate the Nike+ functionality, BUT today during the presentation they talked about the SportsBand, which does not need an ipod. It shows distance, pace, calories, and much more. Of course, during lunch I went out and got it.

Here, you'll be able to see if I meet my goal of 2 runs per week. As you can see, for now it's still empty (even though I've already had 2 runs). My next run will be after my Wed. session. I'm just excited for my next run to see how the nike+ tracking will get updated. Very excited!


Sunday, November 09, 2008

My weight

Today I jumped on my friend's scale. I weigh 188 lbs.
This is the number I have to associate with my body for now.
Part of me felt a relief, and another was in disbelief.

Relief because I am not 194 lbs or more. (This is the most I have EVER weighed, so of course to me it's the number to fear.)
Disbelief because at some point during the past year I was 175 lbs and I had not realized how much weight I had gained.

I kept telling myself that I was bloated, I was stressed, and really believed that at any point I would go miraculously stay at 175 lbs.

BUT the scale doesn't lie. I am 188 lbs.

Realistically, I can only imagine losing about 20 lbs, which would put me at 168 lbs.

Ideally, I would love to be in the 150's, which I have not been in a VERY long time. I was probably 17 when I was in the 150's, and came back to that weight again in my mid 20's. After I had reached my max of 194 lbs, I dieted by taking medication. I started at 194 and ended at 154 lbs in a matter of 3 months. I stayed there for about 1 week, before I gained every pound I had lost before the diet.

Eventually, I want to be 130 lbs. That would make me happy. Not 110 or 120... I don't want to be skinny, I just want to be normal, healthy, and outside of the "obese" category.
Of course, this would mean I would have to lose 60 lbs.

My actual weigh in for the program will be this weekend. I hope the numbers will look better by then.

Activity: I didn't go running today, but had a light lunch and dinner. I plan to go for a run in the morning.

Body: My body is still sore in a few areas. At this time, I'm not sure if it's from Canyon Ranch or from Saturday's work out. My ribs are sore (right below my chest), my triceps are tight, my lower abs hurts when I sneeze or when I try to get into the car, and the thighs.

Learning: Just Pilates alone will not do it. I have to do cardio AND become more concious about the food I ingest. Yeah, it's that simple. Right?!?!